Tips & Tricks for Your Next Instagram Post

By: Gina Mason

Instagram may be one of the hottest social media platforms out there right now. As of January 2015, there are more than 300 million active users, over 30 billion photos that have been shared and the average users spends at least 21 minutes a day browsing and liking photos.

As the app continues to grow and expand so does its capabilities and features. With its constant updates, it’s hard to keep track of all of the new useful features. I recently read an article on SocialMediaWeek.org and wanted to share some great tips for the photo-sharing app.

Here are a few of my favorite tips from the article:

Send Selective People Photos

Want to share a photo with friends without it going into the Newsfeed? Use the Instagram Direct feature. “This feature lets you share the photo with up to 15 people, and they can comment on the photo like normal. Items shared this way will not turn up in a search and can be deleted. To use Instagram Direct, choose Direct when you’re at the “Share To’” page. Then select your recipients by tapping the circle next to their names or by typing their names in the ‘To’ space. Finish off by hitting Send.”

Hide Annoying Accounts

Finally! There is a secret “hide” button for those friends who still don’t understand the concept of Instagram. You know, those friends who overshare or upload 10 photos of their cats/children within five minutes and blow up your Newsfeed, but you can’t officially unfollow them. “To ignore Direct posts from a person, go to the tray icon at the top right of your home page. Tap the horizontal three-dots button (iPhone) or vertical three-dots button (Android). Select “Ignore all posts from this user.”

Hide Photos

Ever have a friend tag you in an embarrassing or unflattering photo? You can hide it now! “To hide a tagged photo, tap the offending photo and your Instagram handle will appear. Tap your handle. When a menu pops up, select “Hide from My Profile.” If you don’t want to be tagged at all in the photo, go to the More Options button and choose “Remove Me from Photo.” If you don’t want to remove your tagged photos one by one, you can adjust your settings to review them first. Just go to “Photos of You”, tap on your settings at the top right corner and select the “Add Manually” option.”

Hashtag After

Ever post a photo and forgot to use hashtags? “You can still do so by adding them in the comments. People will still be able to find your photo when searching the hashtag you used. This method also has the added bonus of eliminating the dreaded hashtag paragraph when you share the same photo onto your other social media accounts.”

Forget to share to your other sites?

If you have posted a photo on Instagram and forgot to share it on your other social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter, you can now. “Tap the button with three dots at the bottom of the photo. Select Share from the menu and choose which site you want to share it to. If you choose Twitter, your photo URL will appear as you compose your tweet, so you’ll know if you’ve hit the 140 character limit.”

I hope you found these tips to be helpful. To read the rest of the tips, here is the link to the full article:

http://socialmediaweek.org/blog/2015/05/10-useful-instagram-tips-tricks-you-should-know/

Happy Instagram-ing!

As always, if you like what you read be social and share.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s